The Ashe County Historical Society is a non-profit corporation created under the laws of the State of North Carolina. Organized in 1983, its Articles of Incorporation and its Bylaws provide for involvement of members, and governance by a board of directors elected by the membership at an annual meeting. We are a non-profit 501(c)3 organization.

Our mission is to preserve, collect, present, and promote the rich history of the Ashe County area. The society motto is: “Preserving Our Past for Your Future.” We welcome all interested persons to join us in our endeavors to preserve Ashe County’s yesterday.

Regular Meetings

 Ashe County Historical Society meets the second Monday in each month in the Museum of Ashe County History’s Annex building on Wm. Blevins Road in Jefferson, NC.  We meet at 5:30 pm year-round, and then following some meetings we have special guest speakers starting around 6:00 pm .

Membership Dues

For the calendar year 2021 our annual membership dues remain at $10. Your contribution supports our mission, and you will receive our quarterly newsletters.

 Printable Membership Application 

Please send a check, along with your completed membership application, to Ashe County Historical Society, Post Office Box 1361, Jefferson, NC 28640.

Or, you may now pay your membership thru PayPal by buying it in our online bookstore!  Click here to go to the bookstore!


President, Josh Beckworth

Vice President, John Reeves

Secretary, Teresa Stevens

Treasurer, Brian Jones

Newsletter, Sarah Beckworth

Webmaster, Brian Jones

Board of Directors

Dale Baldwin

Lonnie Jones

Don Long

Gary Poe

Sarah Beckworth

JoAnn Woodie