About Us

About Us

The Ashe County Historical Society is a non-profit corporation created under the laws of the State of North Carolina. Organized in 1983, its Articles of Incorporation and its Bylaws provide for involvement of members, and governance by a board of directors elected by the membership at an annual meeting. We are a non-profit 501(c)3 organization.

Our mission is to preserve, collect, present, and promote the rich history of the Ashe County area. The society motto is: “Preserving Our Past for Your Future.” We welcome all interested persons to join us in our endeavors to preserve Ashe County’s yesterday.


Regular Meetings

 Ashe County Historical Society meets the second Monday in each month in the 1904 Courthouse building in Jefferson, NC.  We meet at 5:30pm year-round, and then following most meetings we have special guest speakers each month at 6:00pm .
So far, we have enjoyed presentations on Ashe County’s early history, old-timey train songs and their stories, a career Naval Officer’s ancedotes, the production of maple syrup, and Sam Shumate’s stories about Ore Knob.  Come join us for our next meeting!

Membership Dues

For the calendar year 2014 our annual membership dues remain at $10. Your contribution supports our mission, and you will receive our quarterly newsletters.

Please send a check, along with your email and mailing addresses, to Ashe County Historical Society, Post Office Box 1361, Jefferson, NC 28640.


President, Jerry Brown
Vice President, Gene Hafer
Secretary, Teresa Stevens
Treasurer, Gene Hafer
Newsletter, James Jones & Tiffany Shatley

Board of Directors

Dale Baldwin

Lonnie Jones
Brian Jones
Bob McCoy
Gary Poe
John Reeves